Groton Village Board of Trustees Meeting ANNUAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Monday, April 7, 2025 6:45 pm

Present: Mayor Neville, Trustees Morey, Holl, Conger, Angela Conger-Deputy Treasurer

Mayor Neville opened the meeting at 6:53pm Pledge of allegiance.

The Village Board reviewed the list of 2025 Appointments of Committees & Commissioners, Chairpersons and other appointments made by Mayor Neville. (List attached)

Trustee Conger made a motion to approve the appointments made by Mayor Neville, seconded by Trustee Holl, all in favor, carried.

Mayor Neville made the following appointments (board approval not required).

August 2025- Correction to Agenda, listed as Tuesday August 19th

Deputy Mayor - Elizabeth Conger Alt. Deputy Mayor - Michael Holl

Trustee Morey made a motion that the FIRST NATIONAL BANK OF GROTON & NYCLASS are designated the official depositories for the official year, seconded by Trustee Conger, all in favor, carried.

Trustee Morey made a motion that the TOMPKINS INDEPENDENT be designated the official Village newspaper for the official year, seconded by Trustee Holl, all in favor, carried.

Trustee Conger made a motion with correction that the third Monday of each month (except January & February which will be the third Tuesday) be designated as the official meeting night for the Board of Trustees, with meeting time of 6:30pm for audit and 7pm for regular session, seconded by Trustee Holl, all in favor, carried. The meeting nights will be scheduled as follows:

Monday, April 21, 2025	Monday, August 18, 2025	Monday, December 15, 2025
Monday, May 19, 2025	Monday, September 15, 2025	Tuesday, January 20, 2026 *
Monday, June 16, 2025	Monday, October 20, 2025	Tuesday, February 17, 2026 *
Monday, July 21, 2025	Monday, November 17, 2025	Monday, March 16, 2026

Disclosure of possible conflicts of interest:

None stated

The annual review of accounting and investment policies was completed no changes have been made.

- Trustee Conger made a motion to approve travel for Ashlyn McCarty to attend the NYALGRO School June 1-4 in Callicoon, seconded by Trustee Morey, all in favor, carried.
- Trustee Morey made a motion to approve travel for Nancy Niswender to attend the NYCOM Fall School Planning, April 28-29 in Albany, seconded by Trustee Holl, all in favor, carried.

Public Hearing on the Budget

The regular meeting was temporarily suspended at 7:00pm and Mayor Neville opened the Public Hearing on the 2025-26 Tentative Budget.

Deputy Treasurer Angela summarized the Notice of Public Hearing.

No comments were made.

At 7:10 pm Trustee made a motion to close the Public Hearing, seconded by Trustee Holl, carried.

Adoption of the Village of Groton 2025-26 Budget

Trustee Holl made a motion to adopt the 2025-2026 Budget as presented, seconded by Trustee Morey.

All Those in Favor:

"aye"	Trustee Morey
"aye"	Trustee Conger
"aye"	Trustee Holl
"aye"	Mayor Neville

The budget was duly declared adopted. [Type II Action under SEQR.]

Trustee Conger made a motion to adjourn at 7:25pm

Angela Conger Deputy Treasurer

2025 APPOINTMENTS

Re-Appointments
New Appointments

Committees & Commissions

Board Utility Commission, Chairperson	3 yr.	Christopher Neville
Board of Police Comm.	3 yr.	Gary Rightmire
Board of Police Comm. Co-Chairperson	3 yr.	Michael Holl
Village Planning Board	5 yr.	Frank Heine
Village Planning Board Alternate	1 yr.	(Vacant)
Zoning Board of Appeals	5 yr.	(Vacant)
Zoning Board of Appeals	5 yr.	Christopher Lange
Zoning Board of Appeals Alternate	1 yr.	(Vacant)
Board of Water/Sewer Comm.	3yr.	Lee Shurtleff

Village Loan and Economic Development Committee 1 yr. (Elizabeth Conger, Michael Molino, Jean Morey, Charles Rankin-ex-officio, Karl Stamm, Richard Cunningham (Rep), Gary Watrous-ex-officio, Edward Westlake)

Village Citizen Rep on Joint Rec Committee 1 yr. Jennifer Foote-Dean

Commissioner Chairpersons (all 1 yr. terms) 2025

Ambulance Commissioner Christopher Neville
Fire Commissioner Christopher Neville
Park Commissioner Terrance Walpole
Street Commissioner Terrance Walpole

Youth Commission Rep Elizabeth Conger, Jean Morey

Committee Chairpersons (all 1 yr. terms) 2025

Assessment (No formal appt)

Buildings & Grounds Michael Holl

Code & Ordinance Christopher Neville, Jean Morey

Dog Control Jean Morey

Emergency Preparedness Terrance Walpole
Finance Christopher Neville

Joint Rec Committee Rep Elizabeth Conger, Jean Morey

Memorial Bells

Planning Board Rep

Sidewalks

TCCOG

Technology Development

Christopher Neville

Terrance Walpole

Michael Holl

Rebecca Koenig

Michael Holl

Timber Harvest Christopher Neville

TV Cable Franchise

Village Planning Board

Zoning Board of Appeals

Jean Morey

Frank Heine

Vacant - TBD

Other Appointments (all 1 yr. except as noted) 2025

Village Engineer **GHD** Consultants Village Engineer, Local T. G. Miller, P. C. Village Newspaper **Tompkins Independent** Village Attorney Hancock Estabrook Village Historian Lee Shurtleff Village Marriage Officer Lee Shurtleff Auditors Insero & Co. Administer of SAM.gov account Nancy Niswender

Mayoral Appointment (all 1 yr.) (Board approval not required) 2025

Deputy Mayor

Alt. Deputy Mayor

Budget Officer

Safety Coordinator

Co-Safety Coordinator

Dir. OLWMC

Fair Housing Officer

Elizabeth Conger

Michael Holl

Nancy Niswender

Angela Conger

Ashlyn McCarty

Theodore Skibinski

Nancy Niswender

Fire Chief Eric DeForrest

Grant Administrator Thoma Development Consultants